Ballot & Weight – 2011 The Goodwood Nominations

May 3rd, 2011

The Goodwood has an impressive list of 34 nominated horses however the true make-up of the race won’t be known until after acceptances.

It’s expected that many of the top runners may forgo their spot in Adelaide to be saved for races later in the Winter Carnival.

Hay List has been confirmed as a non-runner in The Goodwood and he’ll instead go to Brisbane where he’ll once again take on the mountainous challenge of Black Caviar.

That has robbed The Goodwood of one of the main drawcards however Adelaide will still have plenty of good horses heading its way.

Towards the top of the ballot are well known sprinters like Group 1 winner Eagle Falls and Catapulted from Mark Kavanagh.

The equal second top rated runner is Response which is alongside Paul Messara’s Alverta.

Perennial second place getter Crystal Lily is also still in the nominations just ahead of the New Zealander Culminate.

Throw into the mix top competitors Shrapnel and Ortensia and it quickly becomes an imposing list of national sprinters.

In reality the true scope of the race won’t be known until after acceptances with a dramatic shift in numbers expected when final payments are due.

Keep this in mind for your 2011 The Goodwood betting as the inclusion of some or none of the big hopes will send markets into a spin.

Full Goodwood odds will be up on Luxbet in the coming days so be sure to check them out for juicy early bird markets.

If you’re yet to create an account you can even give yourself a guaranteed win with a $400 free bet thanks to Luxbet.

Using the code BONUSBET on registration will have your initial deposit matched dollar for dollar right up to a massive $400!

The offer is valid from as little as $25 so any size budget is easily accommodated thanks to Luxbet and the 2011 Goodwood.

2011 The Goodwood Nominations, Weight & Ballot

Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 HAY LIST John McNair 1 58.5kg 119
2 EAGLE FALLS David Hayes 4 58kg 111
3 CATAPULTED Mark Kavanagh 8 56.5kg 108
4 RESPONSE Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 2 56.5kg 111
5 TOORAK TOFF Rick Hore-Lacy 3 56.5kg 106
6 ALVERTA Paul Messara 5 56kg 111
7 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody 11 55.5kg 105
8 STREETCAR MAGIC David Jolly 13 55.5kg 102
9 CULMINATE (NZ) Darren Weir 7 55kg 106
10 PINWHEEL Peter Snowden 15 55kg 107
11 SHRAPNEL Mark Kavanagh 10 55kg 98
12 ORTENSIA Tony Noonan 9 54.5kg 110
13 ARINOS David Jolly 17 54kg 102
14 BASIL DA MAN David Jolly 30 54kg 89
15 BELTROIS Robbie Griffiths 20 54kg 95
16 BEYOND PARDON Robert Smerdon 21 54kg 85
17 DIPLOMATIC FORCE Wayne Nichols 27 54kg 101
18 DR DOUTE’S Mark Kavanagh 28 54kg 95
19 REPUBLIQUE Phillip Stokes 33 54kg 74
20 TRAMUNTANA David Jolly 24 54kg 104
21 UNDENIABLY Mark Kavanagh 22 54kg 95
22 UNDUE Daniel J Clarke 34 54kg 107
23 UXORIOUS Matthew Williams 29 54kg 82
24 CRYSTAL LILY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 6 53.5kg 112
25 VALENTINE MISS Mark Kavanagh 12 53.5kg 99
26 STIRLING GROVE Richard Jolly 18 53kg 96
27 BELFAST BOY Gordon Richards 26 52.5kg 75
28 CONSERVATORIUM Gary Kennewell 25 52.5kg 97
29 MOSHE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 32 52.5kg 78
30 NORTH BEACH Gordon Richards 31 52.5kg 79
31 DUBLEANNY Mick Price 19 52kg 101
32 LONE ROCK Robert Smerdon 14 52kg 87
33 MISS OCTOPUSSY Tom Hughes 16 52kg 100
34 RUE MAPLE Darren Weir 23 52kg 87

By Horse Racing Journalist, Ryan Clark.